Wednesday, April 20, 2016


Social Psychology Quarterly


An Official Journal of the American Sociological Association  
April 20, 2016

Dear Section Members,

We are writing because we have learned that a significant number of members in this section also are members of the social psychology section. In an effort to expand the breadth of the journal, we are reaching out to you to encourage you to consider submitting your work to SPQ. We would like to attract more contributions to the journal from a broad base of researchers who use social psychological approaches. SPQ is publishing full length (10,000 words) theoretical and empirical Articles and Research Notes (5,000 words).  We think that for many in this section, this would include your work.

We want you to know that we are committed to making editorial decisions in a timely manner. Over the past year and half, we have average 35 days from submission to first decision. 

We hope that you will send your scholarship to Social Psychology Quarterly. Please contact us if you have any questions about a manuscript or the journal, more generally.

Kind Regards,

Richard T. Serpe, Professor                                                                       Jan E. Stets, Professor    
Kent State University                                                                                  University of California, Riverside 

Friday, April 8, 2016

Mel Pollner Award Michael Deland

The awards committee and section committee would like to congratulate Michael Deland on the award of the prize for his essay "Basketball in the Key of Law: The Significance of Disputing in Pick-Up Basketball." 2013 Law & Society Review. 47(3): 653-85

The Melvin Pollner Prize in Ethnomethodology honors the intellectual spirit and memory of Melvin Pollner.  The $1000 award recognizes an article, chapter, or book published between 2010-2014, that develops original work drawing upon, or resonant with, Melvin Pollner's ethnomethodological interests in topics such as mundane reason, reality disjunctures, radical reflexivity, and the connections and contributions of ethnomethodology to other types of sociology. The Award Committee citation reads: 

After carefully reading and sharing our views of the four nominated articles, the committee unanimously agreed that this year the Pollner Prize should go to Michael DeLand for his essay "Basketball in the Key of Law: The Significance of Disputing in Pick-Up Basketball." 2013 Law & Society Review. 47(3): 653-85. In this essay DeLand masterfully shows how disputing rule violations in pick up basketball serves to frame the game as a serious competition in which players hold a genuine stake. As he notes, disputes over rule violations in the context pick up basketball present a number of fascinating analytic opportunities for those interested in the rule of law as a mundane practical achievement-a topic Mel Pollner made famous through his ethnographic investigations in traffic courts. Drawing on Pollner's  concept of "reality disjunctures," DeLand highlights how competing versions of what happened in the game (and whether what happened constitutes a rule violation) are adjudicated in the absence of unequivocal legal authorities. The essay makes a compelling contribution to the Pollnerian legacy.

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Lifetime achievement award John Heritage

The ASA EMCA awards Committee and section officers would like congratulate John Heritage on the award of Lifetime Achievement Award. The committee unanimously agreed with the assessment of the letters of support received for the award, noting his enduring and outstanding contribution to EMCA and sociology.

Congratulations John!

Thursday, December 17, 2015

December newsletter

Dear EMCA Section

Our latest newsletter is available with many important news updates.
2015 December newsletter

Much as we have enjoyed serving the EMCA community for the last 18 months, all
good things do come to an end and we need a willing individual or individuals to stand for election
to chair the Section. Erik Vinkhuyzen is leading a Nominations Committee in this search, as well as
looking for candidates for two vacancies as Section Council members. Please don’t wait to be called
or for your colleagues to volunteer you – make Erik’s job easy and put your own name forward to

All the best seasons wishes

Robert, Mardi, Emily and Edward

Wednesday, November 18, 2015


Call for Papers EMCA Section of ASA

Seattle, August 20-23

Submission is now open

Submission Deadline: January 6, 2016, 3PM EST

Regular Sessions  (Organized by ASA)   
Conversation Analysis.
David Gibson, University of Notre Dame

Robert Dingwall, Nottingham Trent University

Section Sessions  (Organized by the Section)

*New Directions in EM/CA Research (one-hour).
This session invites submissions from researchers who are, broadly speaking, taking EM/CA research in new directions. For example, these researchers may be using an EM/CA approach in a previously under-studied context with under-studied types of participants, or they may be researching new  interactional/practical sensemaking phenomena altogether. Alternatively, they may have made new advances in traditional areas of EM/CA scholarship.

Session Organizer:  Tim Berard, Kent State University

*Session will be 1-hour in length; followed by the Section’s 40-minute business meeting

Current Studies in Conversation Analysis
This session invites submissions from researchers who use the approach of conversation analysis to understand naturally occurring interaction. Typically, this means that researchers will make use of audio or videotaped data in real world settings, but the session is open to consideration of researchers who may use other methods to understand the close coordination of interactional conduct and the cultural and relational factors that bear on this conduct.

Session Organizer:   Mardi Kidwell, University of New Hampshire

Friday, August 28, 2015

Eric Laurier talking about relationships and talk

Eric Laurier Reader in Geography and Interaction speaking about using ethnomethodology and conversation analysis to investigate relationships.